Chocololic Knits and Crochet Blog

Got a new Sewing Machine! And it’s pink!

Posted on: July 22, 2010

pink Sewing Machine Brother xl2610

Yep, this is the new sewing machine I got! It was only $110 on Amazon, plus I recently took advantage of the 1-year free Amazon Prime for students (hehe thanks .edu email address) so I got free 2-day shipping yay! I was so excited when I saw the giant box sitting outside my apartment door when I got home :). So much sewing and crafting to do!!!

There were a lot of options when I was shopping around, but this was pretty inexpensive, and had pretty good reviews on Amazon (mostly 4 stars). The picture is kind of small, but you can see it has lots of dials to adjust everything, very cool- stitch length, stitch width, different stitch types, and not sure what the last one is…maybe stitch tension? I skimmed through the user manual and was impressed, it has pictures and clear instructions thank you!! I still had to look up online though more about how to sew a zipper on by machine, didn’t really find anything too helpful…but it made sense after I put the zipper foot on, and there are 2 different sides you can attach the zipper foot on, depending which side of the zipper you are sewing. Anyway I thought it was pretty cool…and useful…okay and I may have also wanted to like this sewing machine because it happens to be PINK. At school I used to have a pink TI-83 graphing calculator and it was always easy to find when I lost it cause someone would find it and say who has a pink TI-83??

Anyway, I’m finishing up the first 2 knit wristlet purses I’ve been working on! I had hand-sewn a lining in the first one, before I had ordered the sewing machine, and then I thought it would really be better and sturdier to sew the lining on the machine so I took it apart :(. All that time spent making tiny little hand stitches…dohh! And I actually went fabric shopping, again, and got some nicer fabrics, one is really shiny, and pink,Ā  and looks great on the inside of the purse! The other purse lining is softer but still a little shiny, and black.

I sewed the lining to the zippers, which sounded a little scary at first, and I put a ton of pins to hold it in place, but it got a lot easier and I only really needed a few pins by the last side :). Right now the little purses are sitting on the table, with the knit outside pinned to the finished lining, just a little more sewing (by hand) to attach the lining! yay!

15 Responses to "Got a new Sewing Machine! And it’s pink!"

LOVE the sewing maching! I have a secret obsession with pink as well.
teemnis from sb, blog me baby

Guess what? I love it.
what a nice shop you have…I’ll save it for Xmas.
Mad About Pink from SB

That is a very cute sewing machine. I have the turquoise hello kitty sewing machine but I don’t know how to sew :/

-Zefaniya(swapbot-blog me baby swap)

Congrats on the new sewing machine! That’s going to make crafting a lot more fun. And easier…especially purses. But on to somewhat more important things…you can try Prime for free with a student email?!?! Gah! Why didn’t I know that?! I’m so getting on THAT train!

The now flustered Amazon shopper
Dani aka Doodlebabe
Blog Me Baby swap

Cute sewing machine, I still use my mum’n Janome and its still going strong!!

Bluefeather
Blog Me Baby Swap

Wolfeagle says: Holy Toledo, Batman! A pink sewing machine. It’s so cute. I fore see hours and hours of joy in your future.

What a fun sewing machine, love it!

RJcanuck @ SB, via the Blog Me, Baby swap

Oh that’s awesome! I want to get a sewing machine so badly and I definitely would get a pink one!
-Kimmiekarma from Swap-bot: Blog Me, Baby

congrats on your new find! šŸ™‚ Seems like Pink is IN again, but yes I have to agree with what the rest of the readers said, it’s a cute sewing machine!

Unfortunately, i dont get to sew much šŸ˜¦ nowadays, it’s more paper craft, stamps and stickers …

stephanie
thewhimsicalworld at swap-bot
blog me,baby

congratulations on the pretty new sewing machine!!! i wish i was creative and crafty but i hate to say that i ‘m not! i wish i can sew — BUT I CAN’T!!!

babyshrimp via swapbot
(Blog Me Baby Swap)

YAY I love sewing machines! I have 3 of them LOL. I have a vintage black and gold manual sewing machine, my Grandmothers steel machine and my very first starter machine. I really like your pink one though!

Sincerely,

ElizabethMD

(Blog Me Baby Swap)

the pink is so cute! my sewing machine is so boring looking, haha! {billiemonster from swap-bot ‘blog me baby’ swap}

Just checking back in to see what’s up. Love these. I so admire one who can do this, cuz I can’t. Nice work.

I’m Agnetha from swap-bot. I’m now following you in ‘Blog Me, Baby’.

Hello. I am nomorerain3 from Swap-bot “blog me baby
swap! Congrats on your lovely new sewing machine!

Leave a Reply

